Course Detail
Course Components:
Enrollment Information
Course Attribute:
University Connected Learning
Of the 117 writers who have been awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature, only 16 have been women. Setting aside this gross inequity and lack of inclusion, these scant female writers who were so honored stand out for their artistry, their contribution to their country's cultures, and the universality of the themes and lessons they convey with their work. This course will survey the lives and accomplishments of all these women--from Sweden's Selma Lageröf in 1909 to the most recent recipient, U.S. poet Louise Glück in 2020--and will look at why they were awarded the world's most prestigious literary award. Along the way, we will explore the work of such masters as Toni Morrison, Nadine Gordimer, Alice Munro, Doris Lessing, Pearl S. Buck, and Gabriela Mistral.